Queen of Productivity

21 Aug

M2 year has begun.

I am already exhausted.  And I am already failing at being productive. All the pep talks I gave myself this summer have already been forgotten, all of the illusions I had about never procrastinating and studying ahead and remaining focused at all costs have already been shattered.

Here’s just a sampling of a typical study session with my two wonderful (and clearly useless) study buddies:

– “Do you know that ‘Buffalo buffalo buffalo, buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo’ is a grammatically correct sentence?” (No, Tink. This will never make sense to me…. but I’m glad we spent at least 30 minutes discussing it today. I’m a better person for it.)

– An overdrawn-out play on the word “angina.”

– “What if you woke up from an acid trip and realized you weren’t really in med school?”

– Spontaneously breaking into a melodious bout of  “One Tin Soldier.”

– Getting yelled at for being too loud by an undergrad, who proudly let us know that she was “studying for the MCAT!”

– “Let’s watch the new Nicki Minaj video!”

– Followed by… “These lyrics make no sense, at all.” (Yes, that is what stood out to me the most about that video, too, Sanfo…)

– Followed by… a dramatic recitation and interpretive dance to Sir Mix-a-Lot’s greatest hit.

I think we got through 3 lectures in 3 hours. It appears I shall be up all night studying again… but, at least this stuff is already infinitely more interesting than M1 year.

Good start, guys. Welcome to M2!

Leave a comment

Medical Minded

My Journey & Advice for Others

The Second Sex Monologues

“And without a doubt it is more comfortable to endure blind bondage than to work for one's liberation; the dead, too, are better suited to the earth than the living.” ― Simone de Beauvoir

ashly & monkey

stories from a couple of newlyweds

A Time for Healing

a medical student's reflections on healing others, and being healed

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

MAC Awake

Books | Narratives | Medicine | Anaesthesia

Agraphia: ravings of a med student

...ravings of a med student

White Coats in the Kitchen.

Two foodie medical students dedicated to medicine, good health, and good eats.

a med student walks into a bar...

Stories from my medical education to feed your curious mind

Anonymous Doc

Stories from my medical education to feed your curious mind

A Cartoon Guide to Becoming a Doctor

Stories from my medical education to feed your curious mind